Here’s to the New Year: #GetGutsy Essay Contest

“Then the LORD replied: “Write down the revelation and make it plain on tablets so that a herald may run with it.” – Habakkuk 2:2

There’s always a genuine excitement that comes with the start of a new year. It’s a great time to set goals and challenge yourself to be better than you were in the year before. For me, 2013 has definitely been a year of breakthrough. Like everyone, I was tested in different facets of my life significantly, but no matter how difficult things may have become, I never let them steal my joy or shatter my faith.

As I look forward to 2014, I’m so excited to create new memories, push myself to become a better daughter, sister and friend, and to work smarter in all areas of my career. Thanks to my fellow millennial Jessica Lawlor and her blog, “Get Gutsy”, I’ve been inspired to think differently at how I will achieve my goals in 2014.

Getting gutsy is all about stepping outside your comfort zone to reach your goals. I’m participating in Jessica Lawlor’s #GetGutsy Essay Contest. To get involved and share your own gutsy story, check out this post for contest details.

Here are three words that will serve as  my themes for the New Year:

Consistency. Whether it is in my career, extra curricular activities or new business ventures, I want to ensure that my level of enthusiasm for any new project is the same throughout. I want to work smarter, think more strategically and challenge myself to give 150% in all that I do. I honestly believe that the more your passion and drive shows in your work, the more reputable you become as individual and personal brand. 

Faith. Since I was a little girl, I’ve been instilled with many values, but none have been more important than my faith. I’ve been extremely blessed with amazing family and friends that have been so encouraging throughout my life, that I want nothing more than to do be an uplifting spirit for others. Life’s experiences (good and bad) come to teach us valuable lessons. I’ve learned that the moment we relinquish our need to control every aspect of our lives is the moment things will begin to work for our good. In the New Year, I’m expecting that God will do exceedingly and abundantly above all that I could ever ask for. And in the midst of it all, I want to make sure I’m doing my part to give back and be a blessing to others as well. 

Excellence. There is no room for half-assness in 2014. In order to be great, we must decide that we are always going to put forth our best effort every single time. I don’t know about you all, but in 2013 I noticed a few times in which I was lazy and pretty mediocre. It’s so easy to become comfortable where you are, but that immediately breeds complacency – and ain’t nobody got time for that! As the saying goes, I want to get up every day and do something that scares me just a little bit. With a fearless mindset and the desire to step out of the “norm”, I’m excited to see what awesomeness will be created when I push myself creatively.

So there you have it! With just two days left in 2013, how do you plan on “Getting Gutsy” and challenging yourself in the New Year? Leave a comment below, and be sure to share your plan to “Get Gutsy” in 2014 with Jessica!

 

Chasity 

3 thoughts on “Here’s to the New Year: #GetGutsy Essay Contest

  1. Jessica Lawlor says:

    Chasity,

    Thank you so much for participating in the essay contest. I love your entry!

    I especially love the word you chose- consistency. I think that’s an awesome word to keep in mind throughout the year. Very powerful- something I definitely would like to keep top of mind this year, as well.

    All the best to you in 2014! xox

Leave a comment