Wisdom Wednesday: Don’t Be Hard On Yourself

Happy Wednesday, friends! Can you believe that there are 14 days left in 2014? Are you ready for 2015? Excited? Spinning with your hands up? I know I am.

Anyway, I want to make a confession to you all today: I am my own worst critic. *gasp* Yep, that’s what I said. πŸ˜‰ I don’t know about you, but I can count many times in which I’ve put unnecessary pressure on myself β€” so much so that I’ve grown stressed, anxious and down right mean.

When I look back on those experiences, I realize that I should’ve adhered more to living in the moment rather than worrying about the outcome. Furthermore, I should have taken a moment of “me time,” evaluate my feelings toward the situation and the proceed to act accordingly. Last night, I participated in the weekly “Millennial Talk” Twitter chat and the topic was on binge thinking. If you’re not familiar with the term, binge thinking is exactly what it sounds like: the act of overthinking which then turns into worry and stress. The chat was pretty awesome in the sense that everyone who participated recognized that we all aren’t perfect, and should remind ourselves constantly to take it easy.

Particularly on social media, it’s so easy to get wrapped up in binge thinking with so many browser tabs, notifications and other distractions. Additionally, we all can sometimes get caught up in what others are doing or promoting via social media and begin to compare ourselves, which increases are chances of binge thinking even more! With the end of the year right around the corner, I want us all to just take a breather and BE EASY.

Taking small steps toward your goals and dreams is one of the best method to ensure success. Overnight celebrity has become so sought after since the explosion of social networks like Twitter, Facebook and Instagram β€”but we can’t let random instances serve as our own personal barometers of accomplishment.

I’ll end by saying this: as the year closes, don’t wound yourself up and freak about what you didn’t get done or didn’t achieve. Take this time to reflect on what you did accomplish, the lessons you did learn, and how you can make YOURSELF better moving forward. And if you find that you can’t do it all by yourself, ask for help! That’s what family, friends, co-workers and mentors made for.

So lighten the load, and enjoy the rest of 2014 friend!

Chasity

Leave a Reply

