3 Lessons I’ve Learned From Mentor In My Head Luvvie Ajayi

Happy Thursday, everyone!

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m super-duper grateful to have a number of great mentors in my midst. They’ve provided guidance for me both professionally and personally, and continue to be rays of sunshine on my most cloudy of days.

But I too, have a number of role models that I aspire to become in the near future. These are what I like to call “mentors in my head.” You’ve met one of them, Marshawn Evans, back in July, and she continues to inspire me to be fearless and have #Godfidence at all times. While I love spotlighting my millennial peers, I think that it’s time to shed light on those men and women who are trailblazing for the millennial generation boldly and unapologetically.

Today, I’d like to introduce you to Luvvie Ajayi.

Photo Courtesy of Africa.com

Photo Courtesy of Africa.com

Hailing from the greatest city in the WORLD (*insert footwork and bobbing here*) Luvvie is a humor writer, digital strategist and giver of no dambs. The founder of AwesomelyLuvvie.com, she keeps her finger on the pulse of everything pop culture. If you haven’t read her amazing weekly re-caps of Scandal, honey you are missing out! Not only does she keep me rolling with her unique vocabulary, but she’s always sure to teach the kids a little something new about the world of tech. So, without further delay, here are three lessons I’ve learned from Luvvie:

1. Be authentically you. I just love how REAL Luvvie keeps it. Whether she’s live-tweeting a show, sharing her travel experiences or responding to current events, she’s always certain to give you her unfiltered and thoughtful perspective. She proves over and over again that you can be professional, without holding back your personality. And don’t get me started on her style — this woman’s shoe game is out of this world! Whether she’s interviewing Issa Rae at Blogalicious or introducing THE Kerry Washington at BlogHer, her #alphets (outfits) are always comprised of the coolest sneakers, blazers, t-shirts and prints. #YouBetterWork

2. Never stop learning. In addition to managing her personal website, Luvvie also runs AwesomelyTechie.com, a website dedicated to all things technology. She’s sure to provide those bloggers like myself with everything from tips on using WordPress, to lessons we can learn from websites that may not have succeeded. What I appreciate most about this website is that not only illustrates her thought leadership in the space, but also provides best practices in social media, web and technology etiquette.

3.  Don’t forget to take care of YOU. I’m still learning this, but I absolutely commend entrepreneurs that can legitimately take time off just to recharge and renew themselves. While we all love flexin’ on the ‘Gram during vacation, sometimes it’s just good to unplug, disconnect and enjoy the place that you choose to vacate. Luvvie did this back in May, and I must say it was quite dope. For one, as a blogger, it takes a LOT to brainstorm, create, write, draft, edit, publish and THEN promote your posts. We can’t all be everything to everybody, and we must remember to take care of ourselves first and foremost. What I love most about Luvvie is that she does this all by herself, and she’s honest about it. And for anyone that tries to troll and throw shade about the tardiness of her re-cap or blog post? Oh, don’t worry — she’ll let you know the deal in a real cute and classy way, so just go ‘head and take that seat right there. \__

So there you have it! Luvvie, thank you for being an inspiration to me and thousands upon thousands of other bloggers out there in cyberspace. Your authenticity, willingness to always keep is informed and creativity are amazing, and I know you’re going to keep doing dope thing. Next time I’m home, Garrett’s on me? Or Harold’s? Whatever you want girl, just let me know! 🙂

For more information on Luvvie, follow her on Twitter and Instagram (@Luvvie) and visit her website www.awesomelyluvvie.com. You’re welcome. 

Chasity

Leave a Reply

