#TechTuesday: Starting A Blog? Ask Yourself The 5 W’s.

 

BLOG

 

I love social media.

From blogging on WordPress and Tumblr, to tweeting and creating countless boards on Pinterest, there is so much fun in sharing words and images on the Internet. But most of all, I love coming up with strategic ways in which to use each of those social networks. When I started my blog almost three years ago, all I knew was that I loved to write, and wanted to share my story as a college grad living in a big city. I knew nothing about SEO (search engine optimization), or the many ways that I could share my content.

I’m often approached by individuals that have an awesome blog idea with content ideas and features already drawn out, but have no clue where to start. “Who’s going to read it? How many times should I post? How do you manage to share it on ALL of your social networks?” It always tickles me to hear people get so ahead of themselves and over-think without even having published one post! I’ll let you all in on a little secret: as a blogger, you’re constantly learning new things, so there is no perfect formula necessary. The most important thing is to just get started. Believe me, it can very daunting to sit down, focus and share your thoughts with hundreds of thousands of people on the Internet,  but as long as you remain consistent and share original content that people will want to read, you’ll be fine. So, you’re looking to start a blog, eh? You need to ask yourself these FIVE questions before you get started:

1. Who? — This is a no-brainer. Who is your audience? Who are the people that you want to bring to your blog? Are they music lovers? Sports enthusiasts? House of Cards fanatics? While it’s great and ambitious to want EVERYONE read your blog, you must be specific in who you want your readers to be. Once you decide who your target audience is, you will want to work on sharing your content in places they frequent –making it easier for them to find your content.

2. What? — Friend, what will your content be? Are you more visual and just wanting to share photos and videos? Are you looking to mix the two? What subjects are you going to cover on your blog? For example, if you are passionate about race horses, you may want to focus on topics such as techniques trainers practice to keep horses healthy, as well as the many different breeds of horses. A special spotlight could be the various races that take place in the spring time, and what horse fans should bet on to win.

3. When? — How often are you going to post, every day? Once a week? Twice a month? If you want to build a following, you HAVE to be willing to put in the work. That may call for waking up early and staying up late some days, but if you’re passionate about it you will find the time. Personally, I TRY to blog at least 3-4 times a week. Yes, my work schedule may require me to stay at the office a little late, but writing has always been a release for me, so it’s a great way to wind down. Find what works best for you, and stick to it!

4. Where? — There are TONS of blogging tools that you can use to create your blog and/or website. Currently, you are visiting a WordPress blog, but back in the day I used Blogger (now powered by Google.) There’s Tumblr, SquareSpace, Wix and many others that can help you create the blog of your dreams. I enjoy WordPress because it’s fairly easy to navigate, and they’ve got a variety of themes that are interchangeable. You do not have to pay for the services these websites offer either, but I do HIGHLY suggest purchasing your domain name. 🙂

5. Why? — Everyone’s why is going to be different, and it is going to evolve over time. Before you get started, take time to reflect on the reason why you are launching this new endeavor. Whether it is to pursue a long-time passion or build your portfolio, let that be the driving force that keeps you going. As I said before, I love social media, so that’s one of the main reasons why I blog. But I also love music, pop culture, and my millennial generation. I’m constantly inspired by my peers that are doing amazing things, as well as how quickly the work of communication is changing. Find the pulse of your why, feed it constantly and it will thrive.

And there you have it! Still need help getting started? Leave me a comment below, send me a tweet or shoot me an email and I can help you bring your idea to life!

Have a wonderful day!

 

Chasity

7 thoughts on “#TechTuesday: Starting A Blog? Ask Yourself The 5 W’s.

  1. personal trainer toronto says:

    Hey there, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, fantastic blog!

  2. Dancin Thru Life says:

    Nice blog!!! I have been thinking about starting a blog because I love writing and my hands are getting tired of paper and pen. This was a great starting point. I loved that it’s short and to the point!!!

  3. Ashley Askew-Bell says:

    Nice blog!!! I have been thinking about starting a blog because I love writing and my hands are getting tired of paper and pen. This was a great starting point. I loved that it’s short and to the point!!!

  4. Amber Drew says:

    I’ve always had a passion for writing and I’ve always wanted to start a blog. I used to dabble around with blogs back in high school, but never stayed fully committed to them because I didn’t have a target audience and I didn’t have specific subject matter. You have inspired me to brainstorm and organize a blog site. Thanks Chasity.

Leave a Reply

