Wisdom Wednesday: I’ll Never Be Afraid To Fail

It’s never easy to admit failure, but I do believe that it builds character when you learn to accept it.

Growing up, I thought that when you failed at something, you were supposed to remain as quiet as possible and just handle it on your own. But over the last few years, I’ve learned that it is when I’m at my most vulnerable that I experience the strongest of breakthroughs. It’s always the struggle that shows strength, the process that shows progress and the test that will always turn into the testimony. Let me tell y’all a little story.

A month or so ago, I was having a normal phone conversation with my mother when she asked me how work was going. In my mind, I knew things weren’t looking the best but I didn’t want to tell her that. I was struggling at trying to grasp my true purpose professionally and felt that there was really nothing I could do to try and turn it around. I knew I was disappointing those around me, but more importantly, I was disappointing myself and doing myself a disservice by struggling just to get by.

I’ve always believed that words hold power, and it wasn’t until my mom asked me a question that struck a serious chord. It was at that moment I opened my mouth, with tears streaming down my face and uttered, “I am failing, and I don’t know what to do.

 

For we millennials (and anyone for that matter), it is painful to admit to those we love that we aren’t good enough at something. I felt in a way that I was letting her down, but never once did she even mention that she felt I had done such a thing. What she did tell me was to get my sh*t together, start making necessary connections and trust God through it all.

“If God brings you to it, He’ll bring you through it.”

 

Whenever we experience a little turbulence in our lives, I believe it’s always a test of faith. Doors may be slammed in our face and situations may fall through tremendously, but it only means that we have to become more creative and innovative. Nothing will ever be accomplished if we deny what didn’t work out. We have to be fearless in facing our mistakes, continue to press forward confidently and be relentless in our quest to achieve our dreams.

The thing I have loved most about by twenties (and life in general) is embracing the times when I have fallen flat on my face in defeat, with no plan of action on how or when I would get back up again. These moments of weakness and raw vulnerability have molded me into the woman that I am today, and continue to make me stronger. Failure allows for time to re-strategize, ask for help, learn new things, and enhance the skills that we’ve already got. Also, we should never be afraid to remove ourselves from ill-fitting situations in fear of failing. Truth be told, you’re holding yourself back by doing that! If it doesn’t work out, OKAY, COOL — time to switch it up. What’s next? 

Now that I am on the cusp of a opening a new chapter in my career, I am completely grateful for this self-discovery, and gaining a better understanding of the plan that God has for me. I know it’s not always going to be easy, but I’ve learned so much from my past that I’m ready to face this new, exciting challenge and continue my journey. My previous experiences have taught me to never fear failure, but to always keep trying and pushing myself to be better. From here on out, I’m going to keep working smarter, dreaming bigger and always remember that I am more than enough.

To anyone reading this: whatever you may be going through right now, know that you will always come out victorious. Cry, yell, scream — do whatever you need to get your frustration out, but don’t stay there. Hold your head up, keep trying and stay ready to hit ’em with that flex — you are destined to be great. 

Because for every setback there’s a major comeback,

Chasity

One thought on “Wisdom Wednesday: I’ll Never Be Afraid To Fail

Leave a Reply

