Wisdom Wednesday: Embrace Your Breakthrough.

understandtheWHY Two days ago, TheRoot.com published an article I wrote discussing my belief in how amazing black millennials are.The response to the article has been completely overwhelming (in a good way), and I’m so grateful for the incredible support that I’ve received from family, friends and readers on the Internet. I can honestly say that I never expected for this passion I have for writing to really manifest and take shape as it has, but this moment has truly been empowering. And while I’ve never been one to do things for recognition, praise or accolades, but I’m so humbled by all of the positive energy that has been sent my way. I’m a firm believer that God places things (talents, people, ect.)  in our lives with PURPOSE and there is so much power in speaking the things you want into existence.

I won’t front — since turning 25 last month, I have faced my own set of challenges, but they haven’t come without their lessons learned. And yes, it is true: when you reach this particular milestone in your twenties, you begin to feel your life begin to shift significantly. Your attitude or mood may change, you may begin to feel a little more urgency to do things or even the need to release things that may have held you back. Some refer to it as the “Quarter Life Crisis”, but I’m viewing it as my “Quarter Life Breakthrough“.

breyk-throoany significant or sudden advance, development, achievement, or increase, that removes a barrier to progress

Now, 25 isn’t the only time you can experience a breakthrough in your life, but I think it is important to acknowledge it because it is such an identifiable milestone for the millennial generation.  The feeling is indescribable — almost like a volcano about to erupt or a rocket about to lift off into space. But it’s as though I’ve got this new, bolder confidence and the drive to get s#!t done. All of the things that I’ve ever wanted, or ever dreamed of having I am no longer afraid of going after. Reaching this epiphany has also allowed me to focus on WHY I am in pursuit of my passions and dreams,  and further understand the steps I must take in order to see them come to fruition. Furthermore, it’s helped me care less about the opinions that people have of me. Because until those opinions can pay off my student loans, I’m just going to continue to do what makes me happy.

If you find yourself experiencing a little bit of a struggle season right now, it’s alright friend! Don’t let it define the kick-ass person you are destined to become. Let it challenge you to go to places that you’ve never been. And in the midst of your struggle, always trust  that something bigger and better is on its way. Whether it be a new job, a car, or even a relationship,  never feel as though you have to “wait around” for it to happen (because you might be waiting for quite some time.)  Shake some tables, kick down a few doors and break through those feelings of uncertainty, confusion or inadequacy.  We’re only given one life to live, so we might as well make the most of it, right?  You want something, go get it…PERIOD. 

Chasity

Leave a Reply

