True Life: I’ve Never Had a Valentine (And I’m Cool With It)

Yes, you have read that correctly: I am a 25 year-old woman and aside from my phenomenal parents, I have never had a significant other ‘cater to me’ in honor of this man-made holiday —  and frankly I’m okay with it. With Valentine’s Day just two days away, I am patiently anticipating the number of Facebook posts, tweets and Instagram posts that will either a.) show off the colorful roses, Edible Arrangements and teddy bears of those that are happily in relationships; or b) express the sentiments of my fellow millennials that are celebrating their singledom. While I’m happy for those that get showered with gifts and I’m going to let you finish, February 14th will be just another day in which I will strive to show even more love to friends and family that hear it from me the other 364 days of the year.

Now let me be clear: this isn’t meant to be a bitter rant about me never being boo’d up for Valentine’s Day — I’m probably one of the most lovable people you’ll ever meet. In fact, I actually enjoy being single during this cutesy Hallmark Holiday for a number of reasons:

  1. I can treat myself, because I love me. Next to #CeeDay, Valentine’s Day can be the perfect excuse to spoil myself silly, simply because I’m awesome. Brand new pair of Steve Madden pumps? Sure! A spa manicure and pedicure? Why not! That handbag I’ve had your eye on for the last few months? Girl, go for it! When no one celebrates you, you have to know when and how to celebrate yourself, because you are worth it.

  2. Because GALentine’s Day. There’s nothing like rolling up to a happy hour or lounge with a few of your favorite girl friends (and your home boys too!) with all intentions of turning up. Last year, I had dinner with a few of my homegirls and it was absolutely the cutest thing ever. (Imagine the dinner that Jessica Biel planned in that cheesy movie ‘Valentine’s Day’ but without all of the pomp and circumstance.) We enjoyed each other’s company, flirted with our cute waiter and threw shade at the goofy guys we dated once upon a time. This year, I absolutely can’t wait to have a carefree night on town with my girls to celebrate our friendship.

  3. Reshape my focus, and remain open for new possibilities. I may not currently be in a relationship, but that doesn’t mean I can’t take the time to think about what it is I potentially want in a boyfriend. Love is bound to be floating in the air like smog on Friday, and that will most certainly put people in a good mood to want to mix and mingle. So if you too are sexy and single, take a risk and be the first to say ‘hello’ instead of waiting to be approached, eh? You never know… 😉

When that special guy does come along, I think celebrating Valentine’s Day has the potential to be amplified. Not because I’ll be crazy in love with him, but I’ll have that foundation of being so in love with who I am (flaws and all) that it will empower me to share love selflessly. But until then, I’m ready raise my glass and shake a tail feather or two to yet another happy and healthy Single’s Awareness Day.

What are you plans for Valentine’s Day? Tweet me or leave a comment below!

Chasity

Leave a Reply

