Wisdom Wednesday: Own It.

own_it02
“Stop making a big deal out of the little things, let’s get carried away…”

I can’t believe how quickly this year has flown by! So many lessons learned, goals achieved and blessings received. I’m absolutely grateful for the growth I’ve experienced, and honestly believe that this was an important year of transition for me. With that, I’m officially 30 days away from turning 25, and I couldn’t be more excited.

If it’s one thing that I’m looking forward to in Year 25 is donning a bolder confidence. I can recall so many times in this year alone when I’ve stood on the fence of certain decisions, and wasted so much time being indecisive. But as I look toward this new year, I hope to shed those traits of uncertainty and fear. And it wasn’t until very recently that I took a step into that direction. The feeling I felt after wasn’t one of regret, or wondering “what will he or she say/think?” — it was a pivotal moment of my life in which I finally felt that I had done something for me. Those moments are quite rare, but when they come around you must cherish them and revel in their awesomeness. πŸ™‚

There comes a point in time when you have to stop holding yourself back from the things you want (and deserve), regardless of what others may think. You can’t prevent others from having an opinion, because we’re all entitled to our own beliefs. However, if it is something that you’re passionate about, Β take the risk, don’t worry about what could be and own it.Β If you fall or trip up in the process, so be it. Teachable moments are the spice of life and they only come to build strength in our self-awareness.

If we spent our lives caring about what people REALLY thought about us, I’m pretty sure that we wouldn’t get a lot accomplished during our day. Now, this isn’t to say not to value the opinions and insight of those you trust, because they do want the best for you, always. But I know that when it boils down to it, I’m the only one responsible for my actions and the only one that must live with my decisions. To me, that is what becoming an adult is all about — owning your truth because when it’s all said and done, no one can take that away from you. I know that it’s not going to get any easier, but I am determined to become better in the process.

30 days and counting,

Chasity

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

