5 Things That Shouldn’t Have Happened at the 2013 American Music Awards

Last night’s American Music Awards for those part left me perplexed and confused. From “Mr. 305” aka Pitbull representing his hometown of Miami (the show took place in Los Angeles) in his opening monologue, to Nelly performing a song that is over ten years old, I just sat at my computer screen with the ultimate head tilt. With that, I’ve put together a list of five things that should not have happened during the awards show:

1. Lady Gaga x R. Kelly’s Scandal themed performance (I think?) 
Don’t get me wrong, I really dig this collaboration of The Pied Piper and Mother Monster musically, but their chemistry onstage is awkward and forced. And when Robert shouted, “Who put these pictures on Instagram?!” I was just too through. I really just think that the concept was overdone and too dramatic.

2. Pitbull hosting the American Music Awards. 
I knew from the moment that Pitbull stepped on stage that his hosting abilities were going to be less than subpar. Who thought it would be a good decision to have him host? Was it ABC’s intention to try and reach a certain demographic with him being the face of the show? I just really don’t understand his purpose. And where did he get those five girls that got cut from the Miami Heat dance team? Someone please, help me out…

3. Justin Timberlake & Macklemore’s acceptance speeches for hip-hop and R&B awards respectively.

*sigh* Let me just begin by saying the categories of R&B/Soul and Hip-Hop were inadequately nominated.
Macklemore (in my opinion) isn’t hip hop. Justin Timberlake (as much as I stan for him) is a pop artist that can straddle the line of the R&B genre. With that said, I believe that both of their acceptance speeches were by far extremely forced, and proved an example of their white privilege. While I understand what point Macklemore was trying to make by quoting Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. about injustice and then referring to the tragic death of Trayvon Martin (which was somewhat relevant because he was performing in Florida) , it just made me uncomfortable. And I think it was in part because he had just won the award for Best Hip-Hop artist. Music is universal– which means that it has no color, but I think a lot of times in our society we appropriate certain music genres with race. It’s an unfortunate concept that we have got to work on eradicating completely. Which leads me to Justin Timberlake and his comments upon receiving the award for Best R&B artist. If we’re going to blame him for his insensitivity, blame Sarah Silverman too. She is just as guilty for using her white privilege during her introduction of the category as Justin was for his acceptance speech. And that’s all I’m going to say about that.

4. Miley Cyrus and the huge orange cat. 

I love “Wrecking Ball”, and Miley Ray Cyrus sang her face last night, and she’d a few tears too. I didn’t understand the kitten on the screen singing and crying in the background. But hey, you like it Miley girl, I love it.

5. Lil Mama, T-Boz and Chilli’s performance. 1996-esque costumes, old dance moves and Lil Mama rapping over a remix of “Started From The Bottom”.  You would have thought that the biopic on VH1 was enough, but I guess not.

Honorable Mentions: 

6. Rihanna’s doubie. In my heart of hearts, I honestly believe that Rihanna meant to unwrap her hair. I’m not sure if her stylist was running late to the venue or just missed the event entirely, but I really hope that young women don’t go into 2014 rockin’ this hair style.

7. 2 Chainz and his Candy Crush/Tetris shirt. He just had to pick the hardest level of both games to display on his shirt, huh? Everyone loses.

8. Taylor Swift winning artist of the year (again.) This girl hasn’t put out an album in over a year, and yet she’s still winning. Keep singing those songs about your breakups honey, get that coin!

What did you like or dislike about the AMA’s? Leave a comment below or send me a tweet!

One thought on “5 Things That Shouldn’t Have Happened at the 2013 American Music Awards

  1. Kelly says:

    Good points. I also could’ve done without Katy Perry’s kimono-wearing, powder-face performance of Unconditionally, but that’s a wholeeeee ‘nother story…

Leave a Reply

