Five Ways You Can Have A Great Week

20131111-084120.jpg

Happy Monday, friends!

First and foremost, a major shout-out to the men and women that work hard to serve and protect our country. Your dedication to our country’s safety does not go unnoticed and is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

I know for some of us, the beginning of every work week can be dreadful. After a relaxing weekend, we have to get back on the work grind and depending on what tasks we have to complete, just the thought can seem overwhelming. It doesn’t have to be though! Here are five tips for not catching a the case of the Monday morning blues, and having a fabulous week:

1. Wake up early, and get those limbs moving! I know it’s so easy to hit the snooze button one too many times but trust me — you will thank yourself. My morning always involves a little bit of quiet time before I start to scurry around my apartment. Whether that’s reading, writing or meditating, it’s a peaceful way to get in your zone. Additionally, I’ve got a wicked “Morning Inspiration” playlist on Spotify that gets me into the groove, and gives me a chance to bust some sweet moves before heading out the door, 😉

2. Don’t let checking your email be the first thing you do! Again, another habit that may be hard to break, but looking at your email may stress you out just a tad. When you get to your desk, be sure to tidy up your workspace, get yourself a cup of coffee and draft a to-do list. I like to give myself about 30-45 minutes to settle in before I dive into my work, but don’t be afraid to give yourself a little more time. Also, block this time off in your calendar so that your co-workers know not to plan meetings first thing in the morning. Your productivity is priority number one, so give yourself the time to plan adequately to ensure success.

3. Be mindful of when you schedule events after work. There’s nothing wrong with grabbing a drink with friends or attending a networking event, but understand that you don’t have to attend EVERYTHING. (I’m preaching to myself with that one.) Sometimes after a long day at the office, I want nothing more than to go chill on my couch with a good book and glass of wine. But when I’ve got a dozen events to attend, that dream flies right out of the window. Remember: it’s okay to say no! Schedule your time accordingly, and don’t feel the need to stretch yourself too thin.

4. Give yourself a break. I’ve said this time and time again, but it’s super important to allow yourself a little bit of wiggle room throughout your work day to converse with co-workers, catch up on a few Facebook messages and maybe read a BuzzFeed article or two. It’s so easy to get distracted with these things too, so just keep in mind of what you need to accomplish for the day.

5. Celebrate your accomplishments, and see where you can improve. At the end of your week, always take time to look back and reflect in everything you achieved this week. If you recall times when you didn’t get as much done as you had hoped, figure out a way in which you can change that for the upcoming week. Experts say that it takes 21 days to form a habit, so keep working at it and in no time you’ll find that your weekly schedules will be less of a burden and more enjoyable and productive.

Cheers to a great week!

Chasity

Leave a Reply

