Wisdom Wednesdays: Stop Wasting Your Time.

The read that Liv’s daddy gave her last week is TOO real. 

I’m not going to front, I’ve always been a procrastinator. 

Throughout my high school and college careers, I can remember several times when I would wait until the last minute to complete an assignment or project, and still receive an amazing grade. Now don’t get me wrong — this wasn’t always the case for EVERYTHING, but because I would have such a busy schedule, I sometimes put off certain things until the final hour. You could count it to my ability to work great under pressure or sheer luck,  but the older I get the more that I realize that I can’t necessarily pull the same tricks that I did years ago as I advance in  my career.

It’s no secret that I’m a huge fan of the show Scandal, and last week’s opening scene hit home for me in the best way. As a little girl, my mother and father told me the exact same thing that Olivia’s father told her: “You have to be twice as good to get half of what they have.” As I watch many of my peers reach higher heights in their careers and personal lives, I can’t help by contemplate how it is exactly they manage their time effectively to donate healthy percentages to both their careers and side hustles. And then it dawned on me as I lie awake at 1 in the morning two nights ago: not only are they twice as good as their counterparts, but they want success as bad as they want to breathe. They’ve trained themselves mentally, physically, spiritually and emotionally to want the best and only the best, and understand that it  takes dedication and discipline to make your dreams reality.

So I guess the only question that remains is, how exactly do you reach that plateau of success? Stop wasting your time. 

I know for a fact that during my work day,  there are several things that I (unfortunately) waste my time on: Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Gchat, Pinterest, Instagram, and texting. These modern-day conveniences that are supposed to enhance our ability to communicate can hold you back from getting things done.  And while I love chatting with my friends during the day, reading hilarious BuzzFeed articles and watching unforgettable YouTube clips,  I find that a lot of things that we talk about can really wait until after hours. In order to become better at effectively managing your time, here are three things that you can do:

1. Plan ahead. I find that I work much more efficiently when I plan my schedule ahead of time. Whether it is the night before or while I’m on my morning commute, I take time to figure out what are the key tasks that I need to accomplish for my day. Since most of my meetings are already worked into my daily schedule, I make sure to allocate enough time to my other responsibilities accordingly.

2. Block out time. In order to maximize my time the most, I’ve learned to use my Google calendar to block out amounts of time during my day to get stuff done. (Check out this article from The Daily Muse with two awesome tips on how to really break down your daily tasks in order to maximize your productivity in your work week.)  For example, if you manage the social media accounts of your client, make sure to block out time in order to complete that task. It’s so easy to spend time on Twitter or Facebook all day, but when you have already set aside time in order to schedule tweets and Facebook posts, you’re more likely to use the rest of your time to get other important things done.

3. Give yourself a break! Once you get in the zone, it can sometimes be hard to break that cycle of focus. Before you know it, it’s already 5:30 pm and time to go home! Always be sure to give yourself a break every now and then to stretch, walk around the office and chat with colleagues. We’re all here to do our best, but it’s also important to build relationships and learn from one another in order make the best of our time spent at the office too.

And there you have it! Three quick ways to get you started on the path to time management success. What are some other strategies that you have found work best when it comes to getting things done? Leave a comment below or send me a tweet!

Chasity

4 thoughts on “Wisdom Wednesdays: Stop Wasting Your Time.

  1. Erica Moss says:

    This is something I struggle with every single day. I have the worst kind of ADD online, and sometimes I feel like it’s impossible to stay on one task for more than 10 minutes. These are great tips!

    • Chasity Cooper says:

      Thanks so much, Erica! And you’re right — our attention can be snatched by so many shiny and pretty things, but must remain focused! (and of course, give into the occasional JT picture – lol!)

  2. Brienne Jamieson says:

    I love this post. I needed that opening scene from Scandal as well to get my stuff in order, because like you, I was taught the same thing growing up. Time to stop playing around and put in some dreams into action. Thanks for the post, Chas 🙂

Leave a Reply

