6 Things To Appreciate About Your Twenties.

 

5cc2c36f2e2e8d5dfbcb168cbb60c081

Happy Tuesday everyone!

It’s hard to believe that summer is over and the cool winds of autumn are already making their way east. But as the physical seasons change, so do the seasons in our lives begin to change as well. I had a very heartfelt conversation with one of my mentors a few days ago, and as I was catching her up on happenings in the world of Chasity, I couldn’t help but realize the many changes I’ve encountered in the last twelve months. And I’m not the only one–many of my close friends are embarking on new journeys too. Whether it’s starting a new job, moving to a new part of the country (or the world) or starting a new relationship with someone special, it’s important to remember that your twenties are the most important developmental period of your life.  As the news is constantly reporting, we millennials go thru A LOT changes on the daily, but it is the process of progression to me that makes it all worthwhile. And while I’ll only at the halfway point (#CeeDay25 is coming, stay tuned) here are six things I’m learning to appreciate about my twenties thus far:

1. Transition. It’s no surprise that one of the biggest transitions in your early twenties is that from college to the “real world”, but since crossing the stage over two years ago, I’ve definitely experienced a number of transitional phases. Living on my own for the first time, becoming a full-time working professional and making new friends as a young adult are just a few of the shifts that have come in my life, and I couldn’t be more grateful for these changes. The wonderful thing about transition is that while it may happen in phases, you’re always in preparation for it in order to stay a few steps ahead.

2. Mobility. The life of a 20-something can be compared to that of a rolling stone, but in all good measure of course. From moving off of your college campus, to moving back home with the ‘rents,  going to graduate school here and then starting a new job elsewhere, we are always on the move! And even when we may have found our comfortable little nest in The City or The ‘Burbs, some of our jobs may require us to be on the go when necessary. And while that can be taxing sometimes, being able to move around so much yields the opportunity to see new sites and learn new things.  But mobility isn’t just physical. As my mentor told me, our lives experience ebbs and flows, and we have to be OPEN to any and everything what comes our way. At this point in my life I’ve learned appreciate the space that I’m in, and not limit myself when it comes to achieving my goals.

3. Profundity. The conversations that I have had in my early twenties with my family, friends, and classmates have blown my mind completely. The thoughts and feelings that we have been able to conceive, the conclusions that we arrive to, and the things that we’ve experienced have all shaped who we are at this moment. My faith is one thing that has strengthened the most during my twenties, and it continues to do so each and everyday. Now, I’m not saying that you will completely understand the philosophy of life by the time you’re 25, but how you think during this will shape who you will ultimately become. The things and people you surround yourself with, your media intake (reading is still fundamental, y’all) and even how you choose to spend your money and time will (hopefully) begin to show a little bit more depth. Which leads me to my next point…

4. Prioritization. Oh, the joy of having responsibilities. The art of prioritization is one that I think every human, no matter what age is still trying to master. To pay my rent this month or buy those Justin Timberlake concert tickets? Partying on Saturday night or getting ready for church on Sunday? Yes, I have fought these internals battle, but going through that process of thought and decision making is what shows maturity. Sure, we should all want to experience the amazing things that life has to offer, but while I’m still  getting my money right, it will be within good reason. As I’ve mentioned before, if you’ve got the luxury to ball out — do it to it friend! But if you’re looking to save for a house, car or that trip to Australia you’ve always wanted to take, there’s nothing wrong with balling on a budget. And priorities in your 20’s aren’t strictly financial, they also can deal with your relationships with family and friends and career decisions. Life is so beautifully multi-faceted that your 20s is the perfect time to get a grip on what matters most

5. Transparency. This is by far THE most honest I’ve been with myself in my entire life — which, to me is a good thing. And being transparent isn’t to say that I’m an open book for everyone to read, or I’m going around telling everyone about themselves, but “keeping it real” with myself has been quite beneficial. Reality checks come much more quickly the older I’ve gotten, so I do myself to remain cognizant of what I say and what I do.

6. Evolution. Yes, many changes have occurred since I turned twenty, but more than anything I’ve evolved. From being timid girl and not asking for help, to being more courageous and self-advocating young woman, I’ve definitely come into my own, especially in these last two years. College definitely provided the platform for me to challenge myself, but life in the real world will do you one better. I’ve seen myself at the highest of highs and the lowest of lows, and just when I thought I was going to give up, things turned around for the better. Much of that speaks to my faith in God, the values that have been instilled in me and the encouragement that has been deposited by several amazing family members and friends. While change may seem scary at first, it is always good.

What are some things you’ve appreciated about growing up? Feel free to comment below or send me a tweet.

Chasity

2 thoughts on “6 Things To Appreciate About Your Twenties.

Leave a Reply

