Wisdom Wednesdays: Go BIG or Go Home.

Do you consider yourself a risk taker? Or to you timidly chill in the background and wait for opportunities to sashay their way to your feet? If you are in fact the latter, I’m sorry to say it friend but it’s time to cut that mess out today.

If it’s one thing I’ve learned in the last few months, it’s that I can’t be afraid to put myself out there and go for what I really want. On Monday evening, I had the opportunity to sit on a panel of Syracuse University alumni for a send-off event for the Class of 2017. As I sat in the beautiful living room of two SU graduates in Northwest D.C. surrounded by seven bright-eyed and bushy tailed freshmen women, I couldn’t help but be so excited for the journeys they were about to embark upon. Thinking back to the summer of 2007, I remember just being so thrilled to be moving away from home and to finally be on my own! While college provided a variety of eventful experiences (more good than bad), I really am thankful for those four years that allowed me to grow up and discover the young woman that I had no idea I could be. I did my best to give solid advice to the future Orangewomen, but in my heart I knew that it would ultimately be up to them to create and drive their own experiences.

Fast forward six years later, I have the opportunity to witness my youngest sister prepare to take one of the biggest steps in her young adult life. For 18 years, I’ve watched her grow into a phenomenal young woman right before  my eyes. She’s made me more proud than words can say, and has sincerely come into her own.  And while I wish more than anything I could be there to walk her on campus as she begins the journey of a lifetime next week, I know that she is well equipped with the talent, intelligence and faith of a young lady well beyond her years. I say all of this to say that even though I can’t turn back the clock to 2007, there is still an opportunity to be the most fearless, selfless and ambitious young woman ever. And the same goes for you too! We must wake up to each new day with a new excitement — one that will propel us to want to become better and to help those around us want to do the same. Go big, or turn right back around and head on home. I’ll leave you with this amazing quote from the late and great Steve Jobs:

Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The trouble-makers. The round heads in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status-quo. You can quote them. Disagree with them. Glorify, or vilify them. But the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world Are the ones who do.  – Steve Jobs

 

Chasity

Leave a Reply

