Talk About It Tuesday: Even The Best Fall Down Sometimes…

My fall this morning wasn’t as graceful though.

Happy Tuesday, y’all!

Quick story time. So this morning, in an effort to be Superwoman, I decided to wake up at the crack of dawn to go grocery shopping before work. With my sneakers laced up, hair pulled back and reusable bags in tow, I left my apartment at 6 AM prepared for total domination. Now keep in mind, I had just rolled out of the bed fifteen minutes before —  so I didn’t gauge my level of sleepiness accurately. Just as I am about to walk into my local Giant, I trip every so clumsily over completely miss the curb that I should have stepped over and scrape my knee. There wasn’t much for me to do at that moment but to make sure that no one was around to see my epic fall. When I noticed that there was not a witness in sight, I gathered myself ever so eloquently, walked into the grocery store (bloody knee and all) to proceed  with my shopping experience.

You’re probably wondering, “So you fell and banged up your knee — big whoop Chas.” Well, I tell this short story to say that even though we may try and strive for perfection in our personal and professional lives , we ALL are going to fall sometimes. Starting a new job or graduate program is the perfect example. While we’d all like to walk in our first day like this:

It takes time to build confidence, learn the ropes and get our heads in the game before we start Olivia Pope-ing everything in our paths. It can be quite scary to walk into a brand new environment and not have a clue about what is going on, you’ve got to fake it ’til you make it. Now that doesn’t mean to be completely fraudulent, but it does mean to give yourself the chance to become acclimated to your new routine. Also, don’t be afraid to ask questions and conduct your own research on things you may not understand. As I continue to move forward in this new space, I’m looking forward to learning from the amazingly brilliant folks around me.  And even if I do fall with none or many eyes staring back at me, I’m not going to be afraid to dust myself off and keep it moving. 

Are you in the midst of a new career move or academic endeavor? Share you experience in the comments below!

Chasity

 

Leave a Reply

