It’s A New Season, It’s A New Day.

“In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.” — Bill Cosby

As I was cleaning my room yesterday, I came across an old journal that I had started last June. This tattered notebook contained notes from work meetings, countless to-do lists, the occasional doodle and of course, pages of personal entries in which I took the time to  reflect on particular life experiences. Reading those words of reflection, enlightenment and encouragement almost a year later (during a time when I needed them the most) had blown me away. And while feelings toward certain things (and people) have since changed, I couldn’t be more pleased with the evolution that I’ve made. Believe it or not, I’m one that gets pretty excited about change. Whether it’s the switch from the lazy days  of summer to the crisp and cool days of autumn; a drastic change in a normal routine or even a new friendship — I really do love that phase of “laying the foundation.” It allows me to challenge myself to be more attentive, curious and inquisitive. Now you’re probably wondering, “But Chasity, what happens when that ‘honeymoon phase’ is over?” Well friend, that’s when the real work begins. For instance, if you’ve ever started a new job or graduate school, you know that the first few weeks are going to full of orientations, meeting new people and letting the groove get in (I’m three days away from the Legends of the Summer concert, I had to do it.) But after about that first month, the newness begins to fade, you’ve settled into your schedule and you get comfortable with your environment. At this moment, it’s so easy for boredom to creep in, and for the restlessness begin.

But think the most important thing for us to remember is that when we are starting a new adventure, it’s our outlook that determines how successful we will be in the journey. The moment that we stop envisioning excitement, challenging ourselves to think beyond what we know or are faced with a particular trial, we immediately begin to try and find a way out. But regardless of the trials that come our way, we must continue to persevere and move forward. When walking into a new season of anything, it yields the perfect opportunity to change your thoughts and actions. But we should never get too comfortable; comfort can lead to complacency, and then we could potentially miss out on a chance to become who we really want to be. So today, as I take this first step into the unknown, I’m challenging myself to be fearless, open and willing to learn things that will make me better than I was yesterday. In the words of my good friend Nina, it’s time to “surrender to what is, let go of what was, and have faith in what will be.” Sure, we may have a few missteps and encounter bumps in the road along the way, but I’ve got faith that we will never be given more than we can handle.

Here’s to expecting the great,

Chasity

Leave a Reply

