“Wisdom Wednesdays”: What Do You Want Your Legacy To Be?

When I leave this world, I’ll leave no regrets; leave something to remember so they won’t forget. – Beyonce, “I Was Here”

Happy Wednesday Folks!

As you all know, yesterday marked the fourth year anniversary of musical icon Michael Jackson’s shocking death. I’m sure that we all can remember where we were or what we were doing when we found out the terrible news that the King of Pop was no longer with us. But as I listened to his timeless classics, watched his innovative short films and scrolled through my own reflection of his sudden passing, it got me to thinking: what is the lasting impression that I want to leave on the world?

It’s an age old question, yes — but the more I look to pursue my own dreams and aspirations, it remains at the forefront of my thoughts. I had a great conversation with a friend this past weekend about her dream to one day leave her full-time job in communications and start her own business. She expressed her fears of failing and how crazy the idea was, but more importantly how she wants to be able to leave a legacy for her family in the future. I reassured her that she is more than capable of starting her business venture and succeeding at it too.  I am always humbled whenever my friends and family share their visions with me.  Their candor not only empowers me, but it also shows that they trust me enough to share something as precious as their dream, and my responsibility to hold them accountable for what they have shared.

Sure, we all have aspirations to excel in our career fields, donate thousands of dollars to our favorite charities, put our future children through college and (eventually) pay off our student loans and live debt-free, but as we move forward to achieving those goals we also have to keep in mind how our actions will affect the generations to come. Additionally, we have to support each other in our endeavors to be phenomenal citizens of this world.

So as you begin your daily routine, I challenge you to ask yourself this: if it were all to end tomorrow, how would I want to be remembered? We all may not be multi-platinum recording artists, groundbreaking physicians or wealthy philanthropists — but we should never think of our actions to be too small or insignificant. Marianne Williamson said it best: “As we let our light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence actually liberates others.” 

While we all have the time and ability, we should strive to work hard, be kind to everyone we meet , love unconditionally and let our light shine for all of the world to see in our own unique way.

Have an amazing day!

Chasity

Leave a Reply

