“Millennial on a Mission” – Emmelie De La Cruz

Thank God It’s Friday!
For the final installment in honor of Women’s History Month, I’d like to introduce to you all a young lady that I admire greatly. In the last year, I’ve watched her blossom into quite the entrepreneur, and I couldn’t be more proud of all that she’s accomplished since she has graduated last spring. She is  constantly thinking for new and fresh ideas to present great and informative content to millennials–catapulting herself into the social media arena as an expert in personal branding and content marketing.   And be sure to stay tuned for the re-launch of her website, “The Branding Muse” on April 1st.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you Emmelie De La Cruz.

emmelie_delacruz1

A native of Bronx, New York, Emmelie is a proud alumna of Syracuse University’s class of 2012 where she received her degree in public relations from the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications. She transferred to Syracuse from a small school near New Jersey her freshman year with the goal of attending one of the top public relations programs in the country. “I became infatuated with Syracuse University the moment I stepped on campus,” she says. “The air of hustle there was unlike anything I had ever experienced before.” Emmelie credits her education from the Newhouse school for preparing her with real world experiences and building  long lasting connections. “Many of my jobs or internships have come from connections to Syracuse alumni on the east coast, and I’m really grateful for that.”


In addition to building her skill set academically, Emmelie sought opportunities to excel professionally as well. Her work as a student staff member in the Tina Press and David Rubin Career Development Center  not only allowed her to work first hand with her peers, but it embedded an idea in her head for a personal project that has blossomed into a booming consulting business.

On the inception of “The Branding Muse

The Branding Muse really began as a passion project. Throughout my career at Syracuse, I worked in the career development office and became very fond of attending professional development events through on-campus organizations.  Within time, I quickly became the go-to person for career and social media advice, not only from my peers, but even staff on campus often asked about my expertise in digital media.  I wanted to create a platform where I could answer the same questions about personal branding and social media for a larger audience. My goals to expand are extremely ambitious since we are currently in a re-branding phase. After April 1st, The Branding Muse will become a more inclusive hub for personal branding knowledge, welcoming men, college students, millenials and entrepreneurs alike. We will begin offering more professional development opportunities and training to complement our brand new look and feel.

edelac2

It’s not uncommon for us to have role models that we admire and aspire to be in the future. First Lady Michelle Obama, Sheryl Sandberg,  former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and Oprah Winfrey are just a few examples of powerful women that inspire young millennial women nowadays for their entrepreneurship, philanthropy and elegance. For Emmelie, it’s none other than King Bey herself.

On who inspires her work ethic:

Everyone knows this, but Beyonce is my number one role model when it comes to work ethic. The woman didn’t finish high school until recently (allegedly) and has still managed to achieve so much. The biggest lesson I have learned from her is that perfection and true hustle often don’t allow for sleep. In all of her documentaries, you see her breaking night practicing or perfecting lighting, so when I know something needs to get done and exhaustion creeps in I always ask WWBD? ( What would Bey do?)

Emmelie’s motto for success may seem unconventional to most, but when balancing a full-time position and a business, it makes perfect sense. Achieving the perfect balance of work and life is something that all millennials are trying to figure out, and Emmelie remains inspired knowing that one day she wants to work full-time for herself.

On balancing her career and business:

My life is very unbalanced when it comes to work versus my personal life, maintaining a full-time job and The Branding Muse. The one thing that keeps me motivated is knowing that if I put in the necessary amount of hours now, the full-time job will only be a temporary solution. I must say that having a team helps because they keep me motivated and keep my excitement up. Also setting up a consistent schedule for myself each day helps to make sure that nothing slips through the cracks. The most important thing that I have learned as a working entrepreneur is that some things must be prioritized and some things just have to wait.

To Emmelie, a “Millennial on a Mission”  is a young person with a purpose bigger than themselves. “Each day I strive to change the way that young people approach career movement,’ she says. “When I get a text or an email about someone who got a job or someone who has seen an increase in freelance projects or someone who has just grown, I know that I am doing the right thing.” Each day she works to touch the lives of more people, and if she could leave young entrepreneurs with one thing, it would be: seek help.  “A business is hard to run without an internal team and supporting staff like an accountant and lawyer,” she exclaims. “We often thing that we can do it all on our own, but it helps to avoid many mistakes when you have top talent around you.”

2 thoughts on ““Millennial on a Mission” – Emmelie De La Cruz

Leave a Reply

