Life Lessons I’m Learning: Listen To Your Heart.

 

Four words that we hear quite often, but can sometimes deceive us when it comes to making major life decisions. Whether it’s deciding to take the new job or break up with that boyfriend/girlfriend that you had no business being with in the first place, our hearts are a special treasure chest that guide us in the way we see the world.

To begin, I am an emotional creature. Anyone that knows me personally knows that my heart is worn on my sleeve twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. It’s what makes me who I am, yet I’ve learned that there are proper times in which the rationalization of my feelings must come into play.

I say all of that to provide some words of encouragement or insight to my fellow Millennials that may be in the same position I current stand. I have a passion for education– a passion so strong that it’s all that I think about at times. The thought of being able to enrich the life of a young person academically, professionally and personally is powerful. And I’m blessed to have individuals in my life that support my dream in wanting to accomplish this goal. But as it stands right now, there are so many ways to get to that end point — specifically, I’m speaking to attaining another degree.

You’re probably like: “Okay Chas, I get it. You want to make an impact on the world of education, so what’s the hold up? Go get it!” Well, I’m glad you asked because this is where the matters of the heart come into play. As I was sitting up re-reading The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho (if you haven’t read it, you’re late), I came across this one passage that really struck me. To give context, the boy has been traveling in the desert with the alchemist for some time, and the boy states that he has yet to learn anything from the wise alchemist. It is then that the alchemist charges the boy to listen to his heart. The boy does what he is told, and reports back to the alchemist with what his heart said:

“People are afraid to pursue their most important dreams, because they feel that they don’t deserve them, or that they’ll be unable to achieve them.” (Coelho, 130.)

Whoa. Talk about conviction right there. But that’s not it. The alchemist then drops some more knowledge when the boy states that his heart is afraid to suffer:

“Tell your heart that the fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself. And that no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dreams, because every second of the search is a second’s encounter with God and with eternity.”

YEP! That will preach for sure. So what is the major take away from this teachable moment? Don’t ever silence the voice that comes from within. There are so many times when that inner voice inside our HEADS tries to play tricks on us — but don’t let it. Ask questions, take risks, research, plan– and if you fail, that’s okay! You’ll learn from it. It’s great to get insight from friends, family and others in order to figure out the direction in which you want your life to go, but in the end–only you can make the final decision on what is best for you. Listening to your heart is a combination of things: it’s faith, trust in knowing that God has already planned and ordered your steps and finally trusting yourself.

As the year winds down, this is definitely one of the biggest lessons I’ll walk away with, and go into 2013 ready to finally go after what my heart has been yearning for. Stay tuned. 🙂

 

-Chasity

 

Leave a Reply

