Dude, Where’s My Money?: A Financial Wake-Up Call

“Never spend your money before you have earned it.” – Thomas Jefferson


So yet another pay day has come and gone and you still find yourself the local chapter president of Broke Phi Broke – why is that? Well I know for me, it’s because I am a sucker for catching up with my friends over cocktails at some of my favorite spots in DC. But as a 23 year old living in a booming city, that can add up really quickly. I didn’t realize how bad my spending habits have been until recently, when I wasn’t working full time. But even though I would make sure that my bills were paid (as close to the due date as possible) and had a little help from my side jobs and family members, I found that I was still stuggling to make ends meet all the while going out with friends and throwing money around as if I were working 40 hours a week.

Welp, the joke is finally on me.

And because I had no one holding me accountable for my terrible spending habits over the last two months, I now find myself in my current predicament. Before I get started, a special thanks to Courtney, the Think & Grow Chick for inspiring me for this post. She too has an amazing blog section on finances and has learned from her frivolous spending too.

You know what? Let me show you a picture of what I’m talking about…

Leave a Reply

