“I Am Not My Hair…” Or Am I?: The Curly v. Straight Debate

“Good hair means curls and waves, bad hair means you look like a slave…” – India Arie

***Before I go any further, let me just say that I absolutely love my natural hair and on July 8, 2010 I made one of the most awesome decisions of my life. There’s nothing like being able to wash n’ go on a hot summer day or throw my curls into a ‘fro hawk for an edgy look and still be able to straighten it when I want. I embrace my natural hair in all of its curly and kinky glory and while I know it does not make me, it is apart of who I am. So with that in an eggshell…

This morning, one of my homeboys asked me how has the response been since I straightened my hair for the first time since my BC. While he has praised it in its natural state, he honestly stated that my straightened hair does make me look “more professional and older.” Hmm.

I really hadn’t thought about it like that, but I have noticed I’ve received pretty positive feedback on my hair since last week. I’ve also noticed that I have a little bit more pep in my step when the wind lusciously blows through my straightened tresses. And in lieu of my job search, I’ve also noticed a bit of difference between when I have worn my hair straight to wearing it twisted on interviews.

All of this got me to thinking…“Is it really that big of a deal if I rock my hair naturally curly versus wearing it straight?”  

Leave a Reply

