YGP Spotlight: @_Ilyasah Shabazz

It wasn’t until last summer when she figured out that public relations was the field that she wanted establish her career. As a sophomore at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Ilyasah Shabazz is busy preparing herself for life after college. When she’s not engaged in her PR classes, Ilyasah works for Career Services at UNC, specializing in resume preparation for students.  Her heart lies in event planning, but she’s also interested in learning more digital and social media. In a Skype interview, I had the chance to ask her a few questions about how she’s living the Young Gifted and PRecise.

The YGP: How did you know that you wanted to be in PR?

Ilyasah Shabazz: I originally applied to UNC as a psych major but then switched to business, completed my first semester as a business major. During my first semester, that’s when I discovered what PR was. This past summer, did more research; I started a LinkedIn account, and joined Twitter chats like #PRStudChat. I had also done a little event planning with Black Student Movement, the Black Student Union here on campus. Now, I’ve been trying to figure out which type of PR to take consumer relations, media relations, investor relations so many different types of PR – I just want to plan events!

The YGP: What other classes besides intro PR?

Ilyasah Shabazz: I’m taking Sports and the media, Spanish, Geology, Ethics in the Media, Public Speaking and an internship credit. I’m currently interning with an online magazine called SumoSkinny.com, a college life news website. It’s new to Chapel Hill, but they’re present on different college campuses:  Boston College and the University of Rhode Island. I write two articles a week and started my own column called “Tuesday’s Talk of the Town”, which is pretty much what everyone is talking about on campus, and on Thursdays I do a column called “Weekend Jump Off” that talks about upcoming events.  As part of the internship, I also have to implement a marketing plan on campus.

The YPG: Who are your PR role models?

Ilyasah Shabazz: I really want to work for Diddy (laughter) –but it’s more about the environment and type of work I want to do, I say I want to do event planning but it’s really the attention to detail, the problem solving and the deadlines. So, Diddy and Donald Trump would be role models for the type of career I see myself getting into.

The YGP: Where do you see yourself in five years?

Ilyasah Shabazz: After graduation, moving to ATL – planning events, but trying out different PR agencies, non-profit seems like a good start for me.

The YPG: To you, what does it mean to be Young Gifted & PRecise?

I think it means to be skilled at a young age, you know your stuff. You can go to a networking event and talk to a professional without hesitation. I’ve come to the conclusion that besides from event planning and wanting to be an RA, I like being this filter of information for people. 

Be sure to follow Ilyasah on Twitter, @_ilyasah and catch her weekly posts on SumoSkinny.com.

One thought on “YGP Spotlight: @_Ilyasah Shabazz

Leave a Reply

